Tags

, ,

loving life on a hikeWelcome back and Happy Monday!

Yes, I have decided to say goodbye to this blog. It has served its purpose and it is time to bid adieu to it….but never fear, I’ll be starting a new blog called “The Dysfunctional Playhouse” and I’ll probably have that ready to go on Wednesday of this week.

Bev and I went to the movie yesterday and saw “Saving Mr. Banks.”  A good film for sure, but really how could they go wrong with that cast?  It was an interesting character study of the author of “Mary Poppins” as well as Walt Disney, and it had me reflecting on humanity in general.

We all have so many layers to us, don’t we? What the public sees is just the bare minimum of who we are.

Some of my favorite writers are those who have opened themselves up for public scrutiny. They have talked about their own abuse, or their addictions, and some have talked about traumatic events in their lives.  I have to tell you, I think it is so important for other writers to do this as well.  Every single time we talk about a “taboo” we are helping someone out there who has experienced a similar “taboo.”  What an incredible gift that is, to tell others that they are not alone in the way they feel, that there is someone else out there in the online world who understands how they feel.

And that leads to “The Dysfunctional Playhouse.”  The longer I live the more I suspect that we are all dysfunctional in one way or another.  That’s the thought I want to explore in greater depth in the weeks and months to come.

Have a great week and thank you for following along with my moments….and Happy New Year!

Bill

