Tags

, , ,

loving life on a hikeYes, it is Monday, and I hope this finds you rested and rearing to go.

I didn’t know what I was going to write about when I began this piece, but it just came to me a few seconds ago, so hang on while I sort my thoughts.

Okay, let’s talk about the television series “Breaking Bad.”

Bev was looking for something different to do last night, so we pulled up Netflix on the computer and decided to watch this show that we had heard so much about.  We watched the first episode of “Breaking Bad” and it did not disappoint.

Bev was disturbed by it and I understand her reaction.  I was fascinated by it, but then I have always been fascinated by anything that breaks down barriers and stretches the limits, and this show definitely does those two things.

I started wondering why so many people love this show.  Is it the acting? Is it the vicarious thrill people get from watching violence?  Make no mistake about it, this show shakes you up and spits you out. It is emotionally draining at times and yes, disturbing.  Still, I loved it, just as I love Lenny Bruce back in the 60’s, and George Carlin in the 60’s, two “comics” who refused to settle for the status quo and demanded attention in their own unique way.

I have heard that some people wanted this show banned.  That will always be the case, but I think it is important that shows like this are allowed, just as I believe disturbing books be allowed.  Once we, as a society, step over that invisible line and become the moral police, then freedom of speech has no meaning.

Nobody is forced to watch shows like this one. Nobody is forced to read objectionable books.  As parents you can control whether your children ever see a show like this, and if you can’t control it you can at least raise your child to understand the difference between right and wrong.  Suggestions that shows like this one encourage drug use are ridiculous, just as statements that writing about disturbing subjects encourage objectionable behavior are ridiculous.  At some point in time there has to be individual accountability.

Anyway, if you haven’t seen it I suggest you watch it.  I would love to hear your viewpoints on the show.

Bill………oh, and have a great week!

