Tags

, , ,

loving life on a hikeGood morning to all and Happy Monday!

Before we get started, I would ask you to stop by Mark’s blog.  His topic is homelessness and he is living his topic.  You can find it here.

And my topic is random acts of kindness, and you can find that right here, right now.

Yesterday Bev and I took some homemade banana bread to our favorite girl at the coffee shop that we frequent.  No big deal to us; we had extra and she is a sweetheart….but to her it was a huge act of kindness. Her smile on that cold morning warmed our hearts.

And that’s what this life should be about.  It takes such a small effort to do something nice for someone.  I know, I know, we all get wrapped up in the daily business of taking care of business. Who has time for random acts of kindness?

And yet those random acts of kindness are exactly what define us human beings as higher creatures on the evolutionary scale.  We have the ability to show compassion.  We have the ability to share happiness.  We have the ability to love.

If we could all just try to remember that fact as this new week begins.  Take five minutes and do something nice for someone today….just five minutes out of your 24 hours….and then come back and tell me what that smile that you received looked like.

As you may know by now from having read my articles, I despise complacency and apathy, and I consider them two important reasons why society is so screwed up today. We have lost touch with our humanity.  Somehow, some way, it has slowly happened over the past few decades.  The reasons are numerous, and I don’t feel like going into them all here, but I think we can all agree that it is time for change.  It is time to end the blaming and the finger-pointing, and it is time for every individual to commit to making this world a better place.

A friend of mine, Susan, is also promoting this random acts theme, and you can find one of her post here at http://easylearningweb.hubpages.com/hub/Random-Act-of-Kindness-The-Day-Three-Strangers-Rescued-Me-From-the-Icy-Road

It begins with you.  It begins with me.

Let’s get started, shall we?

Bill