Tags

, ,

loving life on a hikeHappy Friday to all of you!

Today I want to talk about the value found in the Arts.  I’m talking, of course, about writing, art, music, sculpture, photography, etc.  I hope this does not come off as self-serving because that is certainly not my attention.

I talk about this today because I think many out there who are struggling with their craft, and possibly feel under-appreciated, need to consider the bigger picture.

Yes, it would be lovely if we were not financially struggling artists. It would be lovely if we had ample pay for our efforts and we didn’t have to turn to Bubblews or HubPages for meager payouts.  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if you artists would receive the acclaim you deserve, and your paintings sold out, or that you poets finally received recognition for the beauty you share with this world?

But reality is a bit different now, isn’t it? Writers scramble to make a buck any possible way they can. They blog until their fingers bleed, they work for content mills that pay piddly for the hours worked; artists go online and try to sell their works there, and hope that Etsy will be the answer.  Photographers take beautiful pictures and then try to find some venue where they can make enough money to pay the utilities each month.

Consider this, something that keeps me going on those days when I am feeling like my dribble has no meaning whatsoever.  Our work will live on forever.  Long after we are gone, our writings and our paintings will be on display for the world, and fifty or one hundred years from now someone will discover one of our works, and they will find peace and comfort in it……

Our artistic legacy has no shelf life.  It will never stale. It will never be pulled as out-of-date.  How many people are lucky enough to be able to say that?  I think it is remarkable and I hope you do as well.

Have a wonderful weekend. You earned it!

Bill

“Helping writers to spread their wings and fly.”

