Tags

, , ,

loving life on a hikeWednesday is here; clear and chilly in Olympia, a Chamber of Commerce sort of day, one of the 85 sunny days we have each day.

One thing I can tell you with certainty is that the people of Olympia do not live with any false expectations regarding weather.  We are so accustomed to wet and dreary that we will gratefully accept a sunny day but never, ever expect it to happen.

And what about life?  How is it going for you with your expectations?

Do you expect people to act a certain way, and when they don’t are you disappointed? Hurt? Angry?

I was once like that. I would expect certain behavior from complete strangers.  What’s up with that nonsense?  There are 7.2 billion people in this world and I expect certain behavior from them all? How foolish could I be?

I had to learn acceptance.  People are going to be people. They do not need my permission to be who they are or act the way they do.  Quite frankly it is exhausting trying to change people, and I no longer have the time or inclination to try.

Life is the way it is meant to be.  People will always surprise me with their actions.  If they are actions I simply cannot accept, like causing harm to someone, then I step in, voice my opposition, and work to change it.  But I have to pick my battles.  As much as I would like to be, I am not capable of righting every wrong in society.  I pick those battles that are most important to me and I give it my best shot.

As for everyday life, live and let live as long as harm is not being caused.  There are some pretty interesting people out there. Some infuriate me; some merely entertain me with their strangeness.  All are humans, as am I, and since I have not been elevated to god status yet, I think I’ll just do my best job of being me and move forward.

Bill

“Raising awareness one person at a time.”

