Tags

, , , ,

loving life on a hikeAnd Hooray, it is Friday!  I’m going to go watch Bev’s daughter play in the state soccer tournament tonight; should be exciting.  Later this weekend Bev and I will head out with camera in hand and explore the back roads of this great state.  I hope you have some great plans for the weekend and that they include rest and relaxation.

What shall we talk about today?

I was reading an article yesterday about the 50th Anniversary of the Assassination of President Kennedy.  I was fifteen at the time.  One month before he was killed he spoke in my home town of Tacoma, Washington and I was able to hear that speech and actually shook his hand as he moved through the crowd.

There has been so much written about this man over the years.  Yes, he was a womanizer.  Yes, there is little doubt that his family had mob ties and probably manipulated the system illegally to get him elected in an extremely close election.

And he was one other thing:  he signified hope and vitality, and I’m not sure we have had those things since he was killed.  Think back over your lifetime and tell me who the last president was who signified hope and vitality to the populace.  I can’t think of a single one who by sheer force of will and personality could unite a country like Kennedy might have, and I find that incredibly sad.

Today, no matter who is elected, something seems to be missing.  Maybe we have all become too jaded now.  Maybe we are not willing to find hope in our leaders, or maybe our trust has been crushed by too many politicians who have no desire to really represent the people.  I don’t know, but that Kennedy magic is missing today and I wish it could return.  This country sorely needs a charismatic leader to unite us.  I hope one comes along soon.

Until that day comes, we all, hopefully, are doing what we can to make a difference.

Have a great weekend.

Bill

“Raising awareness one person at a time.”

