Tags

, , , ,

loving life on a hikeHappy Wednesday to all of you!  I hope this finds you well and happy.

I’m a big fan of revolution.  I’m locking the doors as I write this so Homeland Security has a little tougher time breaking in to arrest this subversive writer. J

I look at the political landscape today and I am ashamed to be an American.  I look at our foreign policies and shame washes over me. I look at the homeless and the shameless way our veterans have been treated and I am ashamed.   I look at the economy and the way it has been manipulated by the rich and I shake my head in wonder….and I ask…when are the American people going to stand up and say ENOUGH!

I can’t help but think back to the late 1960s.  Make no mistake about it, the American people brought an end to the lawless war of Vietnam.  President Johnson did not run for reelection because of the revolution happening in the streets of the United States, and President Nixon couldn’t pull troops out of Vietnam fast enough to please the unhappy voters.

The battle for civil rights was taken to the streets during the 1960s as well and great change happened because of it.

And then…..

Very little has happened since then other than the erosion of our rights as citizens and the disintegration of our economy.  We no longer play on a level playing field, and it will only get worse until we, the people, exercise our Constitutional rights to petition the government and demand change.

Why this hasn’t happened yet is beyond me, but I feel confident that it will happen soon.  There are too many people struggling. There are too many people living in fear.  There is far too much inequality in this society and our elected officials are nothing more than high-paid prostitutes going to the highest bidder.

I for one think revolution is needed and I look forward to it happening.  Do I want bloodshed? Of course not, but I do want to see a mass example of the backbone that made this country great. I want to see average citizens shake off their complacency and apathy and make a difference.

It starts with you….and me…and millions like us.

Viva la Revolution!

Bill

“Raising awareness one person at a time.”

 

