Tags

, , ,

loving life on a hikeHey, everyone, Happy Wednesday.  Today we’re going to talk about expectations.

I was reading an online article about Generation Y, and how they will never be happy in the workplace.  You can find the article here.

In it they talked about that generation having great ambitions but unreal expectations about the workplace.  They grew up believing that they could accomplish great things, but they do not have an appreciation for the fact that great things require hard work, and often requires that you work jobs that are menial in order to eventually attain your ambitions.Mt. Rainier 2010 084

Part of this begins at home.  When children are raised to believe that anything is possible, but minus the understanding that to accomplish great things you must work hard, then problems arise. Children need to also understand that there is no such thing as a bad job, that we can all learn from any job we are hired for….this is a realistic outlook that is missing in many children today.  They expect to go to college and then immediately start a high-paying job with great prestige, and that simply is not reality.

Do I believe I can be a great writer? Yes!  But I also know it is not going to happen unless I put in years and years of hard work learning the craft.  Instant success rarely happens in life, and expecting it to happen without paying your dues is a false expectation.

I don’t think this is a phenomenon of the Generation Y; I think we see a great deal of it in society today no matter which generation a person belongs to.

Times are tough and I believe they will get tougher. I don’t know any substitute for hard work. I was raised to believe in the value of working hard and nothing has happened since my childhood to change that belief.

I hope you all have a wonderful day.  Work hard at your craft, whatever it may be.  At the end of the day, you may not be famous, but you will be satisfied with your efforts.

Bill

“Raising awareness one person at a time.”

