Tags

, , ,

loving life on a hikeHappy Monday to you all!  Shall we begin our rumination session?

I had a lazy day Saturday.  The yard work was calling me. Indoor chores were calling me. Responsibilities were calling me.  In response to all of that calling I did nothing.

Instead of answering the call Bev and I watched movies for a few hours; we went for a short drive; we visited with each other; so in other words, we did practically nothing.

But…..

What we did do, which was so important, was to listen to our bodies and our minds and rested when it was needed.  What we did do was spend quality time together as a couple.  What we did do was reward ourselves for a job well done earlier in the week by just resting and relaxing.

Bev and I are two driven people.  Bev is one of the hardest working people I have ever known.  Anyone who knows me knows that I am focused on my career and I refuse to settle for less than 100% of my effort….so taking a day and doing nothing is a bit unusual for us but it was very, very necessary.

And therein lies the lesson for today.  If all of us do not take time for ourselves, to rest and regenerate, then how can we possibly hope to be 100% for our loved ones when they need us?  It is all well and noble to live our lives in the service of others, but never let us forget that we also deserve some service time.  We work hard; we give freely of our time and efforts.  It is crucial that we reward ourselves from time to time for a job well done.

What have you done for yourself today?

Have a wonderful day my friends.

Bill

“Raising awareness one person at a time.”

