Tags

, , ,

loving life on a hikeHappy Friday to all of you!  Today let’s talk about unlocking your potential.

The will to win, the desire to succeed, the urge to reach your full potential… these are the keys that will unlock the door to personal excellence.
Confucius

My apologies to Confucius, but I’m going to add one more factor in unlocking the door to personal excellence…..action!

Yes you need a will to win; yes you need desire and yes you need the urge…but….if you do not take the next indicated step and actually do something, all the will and desire in the world is not going to help you at all.

I am a driven human being.   I am determined to make it as a writer and to one day be well-known.  I work ten hours each day at my craft, and I’m in year three of my business plan.  I will make it, and when I have made it I will buy a farm and make that into a writer’s workshop where other writers can come and learn the craft.  I am doing what I need to do to succeed.  Let me repeat that last sentence….I am doing…..

That is an active verb and it is an important one.  Taking action!  Let me give you an example. I hate marketing even though I have a degree in it. All I want to do is write, and the last thing I want to do is market myself….but….

If I don’t do the marketing then nobody will.  If I don’t sell myself as a writer and sell my talents then nobody will.  So I bite the bullet and I do what is necessary.  In other words, my actions are in accordance with my will and desire.  I know of no other way to succeed in life.

I have several friends who are not writers who live their lives spinning their wheels. They have grand plans and huge dreams, but every single time I check in with them nothing has happened.  They are perpetual dreamers and schemers who will always fall just short of their dreams.

Without action nothing happens, no matter what your goals are in life.

Just something to think about.  Have a great weekend!

Bill

“Raising awareness one person at a time.”

 

