Tags

, , , ,

loving life on a hikeSo I was scanning my articles on HubPages yesterday, and I noticed my views had spiked upwards overnight.  Turns out an article I wrote months ago is suddenly very popular once again.  I had written about the sexual abuse happening in the Spirit Lake Nation Reservation in North Dakota, and for whatever reason yesterday hundreds started reading it again.  I have no idea why; I suspect something has happened in the murder trial, or some new abuse is happening that has caused this influx or readers.

Whatever the case, it got me to thinking about the difference we can make as individuals in this world.

I was reading an article this morning about Mira Sorvino, an American actress who was recently honored by Amnesty International for her work to end human trafficking.  I normally don’t hold a lot of respect for actors and acresses; I guess I’m a bit turned off by the Lindsay Lohans of the world, or the Kardashians or Honey Boo Boos…..but occasionally one will come along, like Sorvino or Matt Damon or Angelina Jolie, who uses their status to bring about a change in this world, and my heart soars in hopes that more will learn from their example.

Writers have a unique opportunity.  We have the ability, because of the internet, to affect change.  Will it be great change? It has happened for sure, but I’m talking about small, incremental change….one person at a time.  Through our words we can bring to light injustices in the world. We may not get rich doing it, but just knowing we are reaching hundreds if not thousands is enough to feed my soul.

I have to practice acceptance daily.  I do not understand why more writers do not become instruments of change, but I have to accept the fact that not everybody feels as strongly about this as I do.discouragement

One person at a time we can make a difference.  We just have to be willing to take the necessary steps and reach out to others.

Have a great Wednesday my friends.

Bill

“Making a difference one person at a time.”

