Tags

, ,

loving life on a hikeI glanced at the news online this morning as I thought about what to write in the blog.  I quickly stopped glancing at the news…too depressing!

What I thought about instead was one poignant moment for me when Bev and I were at the State Fair this weekend.

We were sitting eating our lunch, a pulled-pork sandwich which was delicious by the way, and I was watching the people walk by, and I was actually overwhelmed by it all. Tears started forming and I had to stop eating and collect myself….and I’m not sure I can put into words what caused it all.willful blindness

I remember thinking “my God, there are so many of us,” and each with our own agendas and needs and desires, and we stumble through this life just trying to get a toehold and do something meaningful.  We all have fears and hopes and dreams.  We all cry and anger and laugh and love.  We are so damn complicated and it is impossible to fit any one of us into a nice, neat category. Seven billion categories, all under the genus of mankind, and seven billion stories to tell and lessons to learn and damn, there are more on the way. As I write this hundreds have been born, and others die, and with them go the dreams and hopes while new dreams and hopes are born.

I grew up wanting to make a difference. That explains going into Education for sure, but it also explains this need to write.  I want my words to reach millions.  I want to craft a message that will somehow affect the lives of millions…..and looking at all those people pass by me last Sunday, I realized just how daunting a task that is.

I know I’m doing a poor job of explaining myself and I apologize for that.  I guess the message is this:  we are all so different and yet all the same.  If we could only find a way to concentrate on the commonalities, but that seems like such a daunting task.  Everyone gets so wrapped up in the daily hassles of life, and they fail to look at the bigger picture.

We are all connected….every single life is precious….if we could just embrace that thought…not for a fleeting moment but for a prolonged period of time….but we don’t seem to be able to do that.

Like I said….overwhelming.

Sorry for the rambling….just one of those days.

Have a great day and remember to do all things with love.

Bill

“Helping writers to spread their wings and fly.”

 

