Tags

, , ,

 

loving life on a hikeHappy Tuesday my friends and a late Happy Labor Day!  And what a coincidence…that is our topic today.

I borrowed this from Wikipedia about Labor Day:

Labor Day is a United States federal holiday observed on the first Monday in September, that celebrates the economic and social contributions of workers. It was first nationally recognized in 1894 to placate unionists following the Pullman Strike. With the decline in union membership, the holiday is generally viewed as a time for barbeques and the end of summer vacations.[

So yes, Labor Day has been around a good, long time and yes, the main purpose of this holiday is to celebrate the contributions of American workers.

You know, the American workers, the backbone of this economy….I came from a strong union background and for a number of years I was a Teamster, so the American worker flows through my blood, and what is happening to the American worker makes me sick to my stomach….and guess who is to blame for the downfall of the American worker….

Yes, the American worker!

I’m all about taking responsibility, and the buck stops on the doorstep of the American worker when we talk about lower wages and longer hours and no benefits and on and on. The good life got a bit too good, and now there is hell to pay.  The greed got a bit too greedy and the American Dream became a driving force to buy more, pay later and consequences be damned.

The inability of unions to compromise, and the willingness of union leaders to accept payoffs that did not benefit the workers, they all led to today’s economic decline.

Union blood flows through my veins, and it pains me deeply to see American workers fighting each other for part-time, low-paying jobs, all the while buying foreign products and ignoring locally-made goods. There was a time in America where the words “buy American” were a rallying cry. There was a time when pride in craftsmanship meant American goods were as good if not better than anything produced in the rest of the world….but those days are gone and I’m not sure if they will ever return.

Do we want change? Then it begins with us.

Just something to think about on this Labor Day.

A shout out to my friend Vicki Warner. You can find her website at http://griefmover.weebly.com/.  Vicki is good people and I think you would enjoy her site….and Vicki knows a thing or two about the American worker. J

Bill

“Helping writers to spread their wings and fly.”

