Tags

,

loving life on a hikeOur insurance company sent a guy out yesterday to fix our windshield, and he was from England. He has been here in the United States for two years now, and it was fascinating to discuss our different cultures with him.

He was telling me that the general consensus among his countrymen was that Americans are arrogant.  He also said he was surprised to find out that most Americans don’t speak with a Southern accent, which had me laughing….but the arrogant reference was one I had heard before.

When my dad came back from World War II, one of the things he said was the fact that many Europeans he talked to thought Americans were arrogant.flags

Okay, once might be an anomaly; twice, maybe not so much….my dad had a more colorful way of saying it….if it quacks like a duck and walks like a duck, it might be time to pull the tail feathers out of that duck’s ass.  LOL

Is there something about our actions as a country, or as a culture, that gives the impression of 300 million arrogant sob’s?  I’m just curious!

And how do we see those from other countries?  If I said France, what would you say your first impressions of the French are? What are your impressions of Italians, or Greeks, or Saudis?  I think these gut reactions and first impressions are much more common than we would like to admit, and I think that Americans have some answering to do because quite frankly, our image is not the best in the rest of the world.

I know one thing for certain and that’s if we are ever going to break down the walls of cultural bias it is going to happen in conversations like the one we had with this young “bloke” from England.  One on one, just two people finding their commonalities, rather than basing judgments on supposed differences.

I can do very little about what Europeans think of the United States, but I can do a great deal about what they think of me.  My actions speak volumes, and if I want to be perceived as a good person then it is up to me to act like a good person.

Seems pretty simple to me. J

Bill

