Tags

, ,

loving life on a hikeHappy Hump Day, or if you prefer, Happy Wednesday!  It’s the middle of the week, the last day of July, and we are about to begin the last month of summer.  In other words, some good news and some bad news.

Today let’s talk about life. J

I recently started running again.  I know, I know, why am I bothering you with such a mundane subject?  Well, first of all, I’m about three months from my 65th birthday, so that in itself makes this decision of mine fairly interesting.  I haven’t run in twelve years.  For whatever reason I stopped running back in 2002 and have not so much as jogged since then.

Now before that I was always an athlete. I’ve played sports since I was five years old.  I ran in 10k races and half-marathons, and I played organized sports well into my forties, so this eleven year hiatus from physical activity took its toll on my body.

No, I didn’t gain a ton of weight, but I did become physically lazy and my muscles lost their tone and I just felt sluggish overall.

So a few weeks ago I had finally had enough, and became determined to do something about it.  My current goal is to run a mile by the end of August, and last night I ran 5/8 of a mile, so I’m right on pace.  Bev is running/walking with me, so this is teamwork at its finest.

Why am I telling you all this?

I don’t know about you but I love life, and when my time comes to leave this life I plan on going out kicking and screaming. I want to squeeze every ounce of enjoyment out of the time I have left, and I would like to add a few years to that time remaining….thus, the running.

The same is true for my writing. I have a limited amount of time and a ton of things I want to accomplish in that time, so I write like my tail feathers are on fire.  I have way too many words I still want to write, and I can’t afford to be complacent and lazy.

The bottom line is this:  Life is too short to waste.  I had a friend the other day have a stroke.  He is 45 years old.  How do you think he would feel about this blog subject?

I do not understand those who spend hours watching television.  I have nothing against them doing it; I just don’t understand it.  Why watch reality television when you can live reality?

So I run.  I have no destination, but I do want to extend the finish line so I’m running for quite a few more years.  I owe it to my loved ones. I owe it to Bev.  And I owe it to myself.

If you are ever in Olympia, Washington, give me a call and we’ll run together.

Bill

“Have a great day unless you’ve made other plans.”

