Tags

,

loving life on a hikeWelcome back to my own personal reflection page. I hope you find something here that, at the very least, generates some thoughts about this gift of life we have been given.  Maybe it is because I was adopted and could have easily been aborted, but I embrace every minute I have been given, and the older I get the more I have a need to reflect and make sense of this living gig.

I have been meaning to write about this next subject for a week now and I’m finally getting around to it. I now can cross it off of my to do list, which is always a good feeling.

I read an article on HubPages the other day about recent rioting after a court decision.  The article discussed the counter-productive nature of rioting, and basically said that it is not within our rights as citizens to violently riot when we do not agree with something.

I am in total agreement with that article.  However, after the article was posted then it was time for comments, and one of the comments can be seen below:

“I totally agree with you Sheila. But liberals and lefties consider riots to be demonstrations and are part of their rights.”

HOLD ON JUST A SECOND

Why are we so divisive in this country today?  Why is name calling the only way some people feel they can voice disagreement?

First of all, the assertion that only liberals and lefties riot is so ridiculous as to seem childish, but unfortunately this was an adult writing it.

Secondly, why is it necessary to label groups?  Have we not learned yet the negative effects that labeling has?  Every single time we label a group we are driving the wedge that much deeper in society and splitting apart the fragile bond we all have.  What can possibly be the benefit in doing so?

I tell you this in all honesty:; I am so sick and tired of name-calling in our society.  I am so tired of people saying that those lazy blacks are ruining social services, and the rotten Mexicans are out to destroy our civil liberties. I am sick to death of comments like “those people” and “that group” and “those lazy bastards” and on and on we go, no clue of history in America and no understanding of the concept that we are all equal.

IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE

I don’t even know who to blame for this increase in labeling, but really what good does it do to lay blame?  I know there was disagreement back when I was younger.  Democrats and Republicans certainly had their own agendas back in the 60’s, but somehow they managed to get together and hammer out compromise because they understood that only through compromise can anything of importance be accomplished.

There is no compromise in labeling and name calling.  There is only sickness.

I wish you all a very good day.  Live it to the fullest.

Bill

“Have a good day unless you made other plans.”

