Tags

, , ,

loving life on a hikeAnd a very Happy Thursday to you. Thanks for stopping by.  Today I do believe I feel a discussion about black sheep coming on.  J

The opposite for courage is not cowardice, it is conformity. Even a dead fish can go with the flow.
Jim Hightower

Admit it, you love that quote as much as I do. LOL  I have this vision of about 200 million Americans floating down a river bellies up right now.

Anyway, back to the subject at hand.

I was a black sheep…still am….and I’m proud of it.  Maybe it’s because I am adopted.  I was so much different than the other members of my adopted family that maybe that jumbled up my brain and led me to an unorthodox lifestyle.  Maybe my mother dropped me on my head.  Hell, maybe I was squeezed too tightly in the birth canal.  Whatever the reason, it seems like I’ve always been swimming against the current while others lazily float downstream.1960

And not so surprisingly I have always gravitated towards the oddballs.  When I was teaching my favorite students were the ones who obviously had not received the memo explaining the proper way to live life.

There was a tv show on back in the late Eighties or early Nineties called “Freaks and Geeks”…..welcome to my world.  Stoners & Nerds Anonymous…..my homies for life.

Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
H. L. Mencken

The things is, it was never a conscious decision on my part to take detours from normal behavior.  It was just a natural process.  In college I had friends who were already planning for the future, and some of them spent years saving for retirement and socking away assets….I just lived day by day, merrily bouncing from one situation to the next.  Planning for the future? What’s that mean? The future could end this afternoon; how do you plan for sudden death?  But of course my friends had a logical answer:  you get life insurance so that your loved ones are taken care of, and you make funeral and burial arrangements……..ARE YOU KIDDING ME?????????

I believe that we are solely responsible for our choices, and we have to accept the consequences of every deed, word, and thought throughout our lifetime.
Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

So here I am today, with barely a penny to my name, no retirement, sixty-four years old, no burial plan, no life insurance and hardly any possessions and I’m here to tell you that I love my life and have absolutely no regrets.

I know, I know, you are saying this man is delusional…and you have a right to your opinion…but I am at peace with my life and everything that has gone before.

I wake up each morning free of burdens. I wake up each morning completely relaxed in a simple lifestyle. I wake up each morning surrounded by love.

It turns out being a black sheep has its benefits. J

Have a great day! Thanks for stopping by.

Bill

“Have a good day unless you’ve made other plans.”

