Tags

, , , ,

loving life on a hikeWelcome my friends.  Let us sit down as old buddies and contemplate life.  Pull up a chair, get comfortable and let me go get some snacks for you to munch on while we discuss topics of relevance and deep meaning…..and if you don’t want to participate then heck, you still get some free snacks, so it’s a win-win for you.

Today’s topic:  Simplicity

I have mentioned this before but I love the line so much that I’m going to repeat it again.

I had an old friend who passed on two years ago.  When he first met me I asked him to be a mentor of sorts, and after we had met for coffee a few times he looked me straight in the eyes and told me that I could make a typhoon out of a glass of water.

WHAT???????????  HOW COULD HE SAY THAT?  I’M CALM!!!!!  I’M RELAXED!!!!! I’M COOL!!!!!

Well no, I wasn’t, and despite my best efforts to appear in control, he saw immediately that I was bubbling just below the surface and headed for a major eruption.

It was the same bubbling cauldron that I had carried around for decades, and quite frankly it was eating me alive.  I had no control of my life, and the harder I tried to maintain control the more I lost it.

Manifest plainness, embrace simplicity, reduce selfishness, have few desires.
Lao Tzu
Bev and I were sitting on the back deck yesterday listening to a meltdown by her sixteen year old daughter.  What was she frantic about?  She couldn’t find her clean jeans and she was late for a trip to the local fair.  To any of you who have teenagers or have had teenagers, you should be able to relate.exhaustion

The thing is, I was like that for much of my adult life.  I was constantly frantic because something wasn’t working out the way I wanted it to.  It seemed there was some cosmic conspiracy preventing me from my own personal rainbow.

Be happy with what you have and are, be generous with both, and you won’t have to hunt for happiness.
William E. Gladstone

And there was the key I had been looking for.  Happiness is an inside job….always has been…always will be.

I learned, over time, to break down life into its simplest components.  What did I need to survive?  I need food, shelter and it turned out I also needed love.  Everything else that I thought I needed was just silly window-dressing in the display of life.

I did not need to work fifty hour weeks to pay for stuff.  I did not need to be something other people expected me to be, but rather be who I wanted to be.  I did not need the approval of others….I found a safe place inside of myself that could be my safe harbor….I found a woman who would love the real Bill…and I quit worrying about everything else.

chinook passIt only took me fifty-eight years to figure it all out.

I sure hope it doesn’t take all of you as long.

 

Have a great day and thank you so much for stopping by.  If you ever have the hankering to do a guest posting on this site, just drop me a line at holland1145@yahoo.com and we’ll work it out.

I’ll be alternating this blog with my Artistry With Words blog, so you won’t have to read two of my blogs each day.  Good news for you! J

Bill

“Have a good day unless you’ve made other plans.”

